Seek Omega: 10 Enterprise 2.0 Sites that Everyone Should Keep an Eye On.

August 16, 2009 — 9 Comments

10 Enterprise 2.0 Sites that Everyone Should Keep an Eye On.

It’s very difficult to keep up with news media, blogs and your Twitter followers.  Too many posts, too little time, too much noise.

Some Enterprise 2.0 blogs matter to me more than others.  Some are merely fun, some educational, and some provincial.  Others are just visionary and thought provoking .

So here is the list (not in any particular order).  Feel free to tell them I sent you. 

Based on the list of E2.0 blogs in this post, I’d say my definition of ‘E2.0’ differs from that of the authors.

For me, E2.0 has always referred to the technologies and practices of using social media tools to improve the knowledge management, productivity and innovation among employees. There’s no outward facing aspect of E2.0.

A number of the blogs listed started out as Web2.0 blogs, focusing on the consumer side of the house. It only makes sense, though, that these two areas have an overlap.

My definition probably has to evolve to include externally facing tools/applications/processes. However, I still think the focus of E2.0 is about improvements internal to a company.

9 responses to Seek Omega: 10 Enterprise 2.0 Sites that Everyone Should Keep an Eye On.

  1. 

    Hey David,
    Thanks for the link. I’m starting a course at university called “Enterprise 2.0” and have started up a blog. Come have a look and leave a comment if you are interested. I’m quite new in the field though.
    I agree that e2.0 is perhaps more internally based and can help companies increase their productivity. But web 2.0 tools also offer the ability for companies to communicate externally with their customers and build a better relationship with them via blogs, RSS feeds, wikis, etc. Take the Google blog for example. A great blog to promote Google and talk to customers.

    Thanks, I’ll be sure to keep following your posts.
    -Ben

  2. 

    Thanks for the comment, Ben. I think as the concept of e2.0 evolves, it’s important to keep in mind the concept of the entire business as a social entity. What gets the least fanfare, from where I sit, are the tools employees use to be social with other employees. There’s an entire ecosystem there that doesn’t seem to get much press. That’s where I’m living right now…on the other side, I guess. I’ll keep posting what I’m doing. Stay tuned.

  3. 

    Hey David, thanks for the reply.
    The internal business benefits of E2.0 as you said are overlooked because they are harder to see from the outside. I’ve been looking at Accenture as a very good example of a company who have used Enterprise 2.0 within their business to promote knowledge learning via Accenturepedia, AccentureTube and their social network similar to Facebook.

    -Thanks, Ben

  4. 

    What you say is true…it doesn’t get a lot of exposure. The funny thing is, though, everyone works at a company – everyone is already on the inside. They’re just focusing their attention on other companies instead of looking at themselves.

    I get it, though. And you’re right. I see the movement slowly starting to pick up.

  5. 

    David –

    I share your view about what Enterprise 2.0 is. There is a whole internal ecosystem with its own opportunities and challenges to address. Companies aren’t getting nearly the full potential from their workforce that they could.

    Not to say that external constituencies aren’t part of this – they’re critical. But I tend to think of the employees at the edge of the organization – customer service, sales, account mgt, field operations – as the curated sources of what’s happening in markets. They “curate” not as a conscious job description, but by virtue of the work they do.

    Engaging customers in social media is more a new form of marketing to me. You roll your own distribution, you depend on others to carry the message and you get feedback that traditional media – TV, newspapers, web ads – didn’t give you.

    Maybe that should be called Enterprise Marketing 2.0.

  6. 

    You get it and I love that.

    E20 tools can be external to the extent that they engage outside parties (customers, supply chain, etc) in the value creation process of the organization, but pushing out messages is fundamentally different and is the domain of marketing.

  7. 

    David,

    Interesting comment. I think I disagree slightly with the conclusion though.

    E2.0 and M2.0 are interdependent if you think that the insights gained from the latter need sharing into the former, especially if the issues concerned pose exceptions to existing processes. The customer-facing curators you mention don’t typically possess the ability to adapt processes to emergent challenges, do they? It seems to me that adaptations of that kind must occur in the internal collaborative ecosystem. Does this make sense to you?

  8. 

    Larry – I like where you’re going. I think you’re right on with your notion of interdependence; synthesizing what Jevon & Hutch are saying in their previous comments.

    I like Hutch’s idea of the curators existing at the edge of the organization bringing market info back inside. And while they might not be curating consciously, the trick will be to tap into their work flow and take advantage of their ‘competitive intelligence’ (I work at an aerospace & defense company, it’s bound to rub off).

    I’m thinking the concepts in this thread would work well in a picture.

  9. 

    It seems to me E2.0 could be broken down into two smaller parts. One for the external facing, marketing side of things and one for the internal “knowledge management, productivity and innovation” side of things.

    Your idea of a picture would certainly simplify things.

    Thanks, Ben

Leave a Reply

